Skip to product information
1 of 1

United Books

The Tea Ladies - Amanda Hampson

The Tea Ladies - Amanda Hampson

Regular price $32.99 AUD
Regular price Sale price $32.99 AUD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

A wickedly witty cosy crime novel set in Sydney in the swinging sixties, ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.

They keep everyone's secrets, until there's a murder...

Sydney, 1965- After a chance encounter with a stranger, tea ladies Hazel, Betty and Irene become accidental sleuths, stumbling into a world of ruthless crooks and racketeers in search of a young woman believed to be in danger.

In the meantime, Hazel's job at Empire Fashionwear is in jeopardy. The firm has turned out the same frocks and blouses for the past twenty years and when the mini-skirt bursts onto the scene, it rocks the rag trade to its foundations. War breaks out between departments and it falls to Hazel, the quiet diplomat, to broker peace and save the firm.

When there is a murder in the building, the tea ladies draw on their wider network and put themselves in danger as they piece together clues that connect the murder to a nearby arson and a kidnapping. But if there's one thing tea ladies can handle, it's hot water.

'The Tea Ladies is a total joy! With her ear for dialogue and eye for authentic detail, Amanda Hampson has created a refreshing take on a murder mystery that is both wickedly funny and highly entertaining. Hazel, Betty, Irene and Merl leapt straight off the page and into my heart. I can still hear them laughing, gossiping and plotting, long after I finished this delightful book.' Joanna Nell

Shipping & Returns

View full details